Skip to content
November 8, 2010 / Nik Nik

The Proof of the Pudding…

Yorkshire Puddingis in the eating. Yorkshire Pudding that is…

Its been a cold, wet fall day here which left me wanting hot and hearty food, not to mention that its a great way to warm up the house.  We happened to have a beef roast ready to go, so that, along with roast potatoes, carrots, and parsnip, steamed brussels sprouts, broccoli and asparagus and a Sunday roast is created.

Like thick cream…

I’ve been wanting to try making these for a few years, and I’ve felt too intimidated.  I have powerful memories of my mother making them, and I was always surprised at how that thin liquid could become huge puddings in no time.  We’re having roast beef, so what better time to finally attempt them.

 

Puddings at 5 minutes

The mixture is best made in a large pitcher making it easy to be poured into the muffin tray.  I was tempted to overfill each cup, but after reading lots of hints online, I managed to resist that temptation, and trust that they’d rise just as I hoped.

Here they are starting to rise at 10 minutes

I found myself cross-legged in front of the oven just watching them rise.  It was like watching a psychological thriller, just waiting to find out who dun it!  I even remembered to take photos of the progress. I hope you find them as impressive as I did.

At 20 minutes they seem to threaten to overflow

About this point, I was tempted to open the oven to get a better photo, but somehow managed to resist that too. I wanted a photo at the top of the post that I’d feel proud of, and opening that door would have doomed them, I’m sure.

 

And then they were done!

Yorkshire Pudding

1 cup all-purpose flour

2 eggs

1 cup of milk (or milk and water) +/-

1/2 tspn salt

2 Tbspn of some form of fat – Oil, lard, dripping, butter to grease the muffin tins

Directions:

Heat your oven to 425F.

Beat the eggs well and then add the milk to the bowl.  Put the flour and salt into a large pitcher. Give it a quick stir to mix.  Add the liquids, and beat well. You’re trying to get a mixture the consistency of thick cream, which may take a little more milk.

Place 1/2 tspn fat into each muffin cup of your tray.  Place the tray into the hot oven for 5 – 8 minutes, or until the fat is smoking.

Carefully remove the tray from the oven and pour a little of the mixture into each cup – approximately 1/3 of each muffin cup.

Bake at 425F for about 25 minutes or until golden brown.  Serve with roast beef, vegetables and gravy and enjoy.

As usual, no comments from the family, though they were quick to chow down on them.  My take is that they were great.  Light on the inside and crisp on the top.  Excellent with a little homemade gravy too.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Peter / Nov 10 2010 10:41 pm

    Hi Nik Nik

    Thanks for the kind comment about my writing. My dad was from yorkshire and he used to eat yorkshire puddings on their own with jam on top . . .

    I would do the same but we never seem to have any leftover!

    peter

    • Nik Nik / Nov 10 2010 10:52 pm

      Ahhh…. that’s why I made a dozen…. We’re a family of only 3, and I filled the plates with veggies, so a couple were leftover.

      Your dad was a smart man! Jam is an excellent topping for the leftovers! Were I back home in the Antipodes then Golden Syrup would be my first choice, but no such luck here in California 😦

      I searched your blog further and then wandered over to your Soup Book on Scribd. I am inspired! Roasted pumpkin soup is one of my favorites. During Halloween I found what looks and tastes like a Queensland Blue pumpkin at the local pumpkin patch, a surprise discovery. I hear my oven timer reminding me to turn the pieces as I write this. Thanks for the inspiration – off to fry up onions and garlic now.

  2. midnitechef / Nov 11 2010 4:39 pm

    Had to check out your blog and yes! Yorkshire Pudding! I wanted to make them to drown in my pot roast gravy… maybe I still can.

    • Nik Nik / Nov 11 2010 4:41 pm

      I hope you do! They take no time to mix up and only about 25 mins in the oven. Definitely worth it – especially with pot roast gravy. Yummm!

  3. Jenna / Nov 11 2010 6:00 pm

    These look amazing! And so simple . . .

    • Nik Nik / Nov 11 2010 6:02 pm

      Thanks, Jenna. They aren’t difficult and are very tasty with a little gravy. Left overs taste great with jam too….

  4. charlie nitric / Apr 25 2011 6:41 pm

    Hello –
    OMG Yorkshire Pudding…yummm! Single guy here and rarely cooking/baking foods that take much time to prepare. Send me a truck load of this and I will have it devoured by sundown, lol. I’m hungry now as this looks delicious. Have a nice Monday. 🙂

    • Nik Nik / Apr 25 2011 6:46 pm

      I recommended you try making these, Charlie. They taste even better than they look. Thanks for visiting. – Nik Nik

Leave a Reply

