Skip to content
August 2, 2011 / Nik Nik

Tigerbrood – AKA Dutch Crunch Bread

Dutch Crunch Roll - success

Dutch Crunch Roll - success

Apart from flirting with a photo challenge recently, my blog has been under radio silence for quite a while – more than 3 months in fact.  I found myself totally overwhelmed by a ‘part-time’ consulting job that I’d had for more than 5 years, and decided that it simply had to go!

Rice flour, sugar, water, oil and salt make the topping

The topping ready to sit and double.

I resigned back on December 2, giving 3 months notice, only to be asked to add a month to that.  I politely declined, and set about making it possible to pass the multitude of projects, tasks, files and details on to someone who had the wherewithal to do the job well, while staying in touch with the realities of their own lives, all at the same time.  I obviously hadn’t managed that myself, but firmly believe that its possible for someone else, somehow.  I’m happy to say that now, months later, my replacement is firmly in place, with all the necessary skills to fulfill the role, with all the above-mentioned transferred to her new laptop.  I wish her the very best, and in other circumstances, I’d be happy to have called her a new friend.

Yeast after sitting, has foamed up a little

Ready to add the butter, salt and then flour once the yeast has foamed.

So upon my departure I decided to take 2 weeks ‘staycation’ to catch up the life that I call my own, that I’d been so sadly missing.  I’ve mastered my own filing, moved seldom worn clothes from my closet to the thrift store, taken beach walks with our dog , met up with long-neglected friends, bought gourmet cookbooks, a mandoline (thats a kitchen implement, rather than musical instrument), and even baked bread!

I’ve simply been having fun, and intend to do more of that for the next week too.

So, here is the product of my bread baking adventure: Tigerbrood – known around these parts as Dutch Crunch Bread!  My ‘hubberson’ is a huge fan of these rolls, and I decided that instead of buying them I could make some for him to enjoy.  As soon as I looked at recipes I realized that I didn’t have any rice flour so I set about making my own from the organic brown rice I always have on hand.  It took a long time, and a lot of patience to make it in the blender.

Brown rice flour - fresh made

This is how my rice flour turned out

I only have a small Cuisinart blender and it’s not intended to be used for anything so intense, so I pulsed away off and on for about 30 minutes to get the flour to a consistency that I thought my be just suitable.  It actually made a great crunchy topping, though perhaps a little thicker than necessary.  The recipe I was using had 2 packages of yeast in the topping, but I think that 1 would be plenty.

Dough ready to rise

After kneading the dough is ready for a cozy spot to double.

I was happy to find this recipe which creates a very soft and moist finished bread, perfectly complementing the crunch of the topping.

Dutch Crunch Bread

3/4 cup warm water

1 tspn sugar

2 1/4 tspns active dry yeast (1 envelope)

1/2 tspn salt

1 Tblspn melted butter

2 cups all-purpose flour + 1/4 cup whole wheat flour mixed

Crunchy Topping

2 tspsn sugar

2 1/4 tspns active dry yeast (1 envelope)

1/4 tspn salt

6 Tblspns rice flour (I made my own from brown rice)

1 tspn vegetable oil

1/3 cup warm water

Bread instructions:

Combine warm water, yeast and sugar in a bowl, stir gently and place in a warm place to ‘activate’ yeast.  Leave about 10 minutes, while preparing salt and melted butter.  When yeast mixture has bubbles, or foam has formed on the top, add the melted butter and salt and stir well.  Add 1 1/2 cups of flour and mix gently.

Knead with a bread hook for about 8 minutes, slowly adding remaining flour a little at a time.  Note: you may not need all the extra flour – only add flour until it stops being incorporated into the dough.  This step can also be done by kneading by hand on a floured board, though it takes a little longer.

Once no more flour is being absorbed, place the dough in the bowl cover it and stand it in a warm place until it doubles in size.  About 45 minutes should do it.  While this is happening make your topping and leave it to rise also.

Topping:

Gently mix all ingredients and allow to stand in a warm place until doubled.  Approx 30 – 35 minutes.

When the dough has doubled, punch it down on your floured board and knead a little to remove excess air.  Form into rolls (or a loaf), and place in or on a greased pan.  Spread crunch topping over and leave to rise, uncovered, for about 30 minutes or until they’re puffed up again.

Preheat oven to 375 deg F. Bake rolls for approximately 20 minutes depending on their size, or loaf for about 50 – 55 minutes, or until rich golden brown. Enjoy!

Original recipe sourced from www.bigoven.com.


Leave a Reply

